My Preliminary Practicum Report!

Image

Central Park’s Saturday Green Team


To fulfill the practicum, I am participating in a number of ecological seminars, joining the Environmental Club, and working as a weekend volunteer in Central Park.  In January, I purchased tickets for three seminars from the “Nature and Our Future” series at the New York Academy of Sciences in the World Trade Center, and so far, I have attended two of them (each 1.5 hours long).  The first seminar, Adapting Cities to Climate Change in a Post-Sandy World, had a series of panelists that discussed design and policy solutions to make New York City more sustainable and fortified for bracing storms and climate change by design and the second seminar, From Where Will the Water of the Future Come? had a similar group of panelists discussing the future of water.  I am going to attend the final seminar, The Limits of Our Planet: A Debate come March.  In addition, I attended another seminar about Hurricane Sandy at NYU’s Center for Architecture (2-3 hours long).  I have loved all of the lectures I have been to and I am very excited to experience The Limits of Our Planet: A Debate.

I have also joined the Environmental Club. Like Sarah Zaccagni, I haven’t been too involved yet because the club’s activities haven’t started to ramp up just yet.  As a club member, I hope to work with the cafeteria on composting leftover food and helping restore a vegetable garden on the side of McMahon Hall.

Although I haven’t started yet, I have signed up to be a part of Central Park’s Saturday Green Team till the end of the year, which meets for 3 hours once every other weekend to pull weeds, plant, paint, and things of that nature.  It will be a blessing to spend some quality time outdoors and help out a park that has meant so much to me this past year.

– Joe Reilly

Leave a comment